Brora Rangers Win Top Prizes at Press and Journal Highland League Awards

Brora Rangers tasted double-hit in the press and Journal Highland League’s awards tonight as broader midfielder Andrew Greig picked up the Player of the Year trophy, while his manager Davie Kirkwood retained the manager-of-the-year title.

After receiving his trophy from Press and Journal Editor-in-Chief Damian Bates at the season-end annual award ceremony at Nairns Newton Hotel, former Caley Thistle Youngster said: “I’m delighted to have won this prestigious award, as there are so many of my Brora Teammates who could also have been nominated. “

For the second consecutive year, the manager of the year went to Davie Kirkwood, who inspired the Brora Rangers to go unbeaten on the way to winning the Highland League title for an entire season.

Former Rangers, Hearts, Airdrie, Raith Rovers and East Fife midfielders said: “I am delighted to have won this trophy for the second year in a row and I would like to thank all my backroom staff, especially Stuart Golabek and Alan Duff, and Of course, with a great group of players, this would never have happened without their continued support throughout the season.

“I must also pay tribute to our board and committee, the Brora supporters and our club sponsor Ben MacKay for his generous support, not to mention the other Highland League executives who voted for me.”

Brora captain Mackay captured the silverware for most league goals during the season, 42, and Brora swept the boards by also winning the Fair Play award.

Highland Football League

The Scottish Highland Football League, commonly known as the Highland League (known as the Press & Journal Highland League for sponsorship reasons) is a Scottish football league titled “Scottish Football League”. The league, the fifth league in Scottish football, is a full member of the Scottish Football Association. It currently consists of 17 teams from the Scottish Highlands and the lowlands of Moray and Aberdeenshire.

Until the reorganization of Scottish football in the 2012-13 season, the league was historically one of the highest leagues in Scottish football, along with the Scottish Premier League and Scottish Football League, as well as the east of Scotland and the south of Scotland Leagues.

Since the 2014/15 season, the league (along with the newly formed Lowland Football League) is a feeder division for the Scottish League Two of the SPFL. The Highland Football League Champions play the Lowland Football League winners for a chance to hit the bottom club in league two.

All clubs are full members of the Scottish Football Association and therefore qualify automatically for the first round of the Scottish Cup in the coming season. The champions of the league and the runner-up team will receive a free spin in the second round of the Cup. Since 2014, the season’s champion team has also won a place in the Scottish Challenge Cup. This was extended from 2016 to the four best clubs. The champions also participate in the Scottish League Cup sponsored by voita auto tana.